The Normalization of Victimhood

I don’t know if it’s because it is happening in my home-state or not, but I cannot seem to get away from articles about an up and coming date rape drug detector nail polish. I’m sure you can find MANY articles about this, but here is the best blurb I found to give you a little bit of context. Word of this polish has been receiving a LOT of attention, clout, and even funding! What scares me about this is the major implications this has on our culture of rape and sexual assault! I couldn’t stop reacting to it until I wrote something about it, so here it is.

Pacifying Poison.

Oh my gosh, Becky;

they figured it out!

There’s a new rape preparedness item

the world’s talking about!

It’s a lot smarter

and more intuitive

than before,

it uses your body chemistry

to expose a detour!

 

But this detour I’m thinking about

isn’t the one that has been getting 

all the clout.

Whatever new substance 

made to empower the victim,

is also perpetuating

manic inhibition

of our discussions on rape

that focus on the attacker,

the attention that is needed

so victim count

can begin to falter.

 

Rape and sexual assault

don’t have to be inevitable things,

but first we need 

to put on our decoder rings.

No, not the ones 

that train us to blame the victims,

the ones where we can clearly see

our mental prisons

that have been founded and bolstered

by the rhetoric of yore.

Now THAT’S the new innovation

to be excited for.

Written by me on 8.26.14

I hope this inspires you to look past the band-aids and into the root of this disease of epidemic proportions.

Until Next Time, Comrades,

-D

THIS is the point that we need to be trying to make innovations and decoders for. Rape and sexual assault are not and do not have to be inevitable things.

THIS is the point that we need to be trying to make innovations and decoders for. Rape and sexual assault are not and do not have to be inevitable things that victims need to constantly be prepared to endure.

About thepsych1

I am a natural progression. As I learn and grow, so does this blog as a reflection of myself. Poetry Art Videos Critique Let's collaborate. Bring your friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

