When You Feel Like Praxis Doesn’t Live up to Theory

Today

I don’t feel like listening,

all I want to do is sit.

*     *     *

I want to sit with my

thoughts about revolution,

and not about

foundational white

philosophists.

It’s not only about aesthetics

but when you try and get it,

you begin to see how

hastily

the tides continue

not to turn.

*     *     *

Hierarchies of power

continue to loot and sour

any energy

to incite revolutionary movement.

Hazelnut lattes

and Sunday fundays

tacitly disengaging

us from the truth.

Lemme help instigate revolutionary change

-but wait, let me explain-

I have to get my master’s degree first.

*     *     *

What is in a concession,

but a dream deferred?

Intention does not equal action.

And all the moments

turn into years

and all your anticipation

turns into fear.

You must make haste

to return to your own head,

before you end up

subsidizing your own social death.

Written by me on 9.22.14

Had to share because I know I’m not alone here. Thank you for reading.

Until Next Time,

-D

Audre inspires.

Audre inspires.

About thepsych1

I am a natural progression. As I learn and grow, so does this blog as a reflection of myself. Poetry Art Videos Critique Let's collaborate. Bring your friends.
This entry was posted in Activism During the Struggle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

