A Poetic Meditation in Memoriam

Today is Martin Luther King Jr. Day, though most of us don’t have the day off to reflect and meditate on the gravity of his life and the many contributions he added to the movement. Well, if you have a few moments to read this post, perhaps it will help give you a brief pause.

The first poem I want to share is from June Jordan.

In Memoriam: Martin Luther King, Jr.

I

Honey people murder mercy U.S.A.

the milkland turn to monsters teach

to kill to violate pull down destroy

the weakly freedom growing fruit

from being born.

America

Tomorrow yesterday rip rape

exacerbate despoil disfigure

crazy running threat the

deadly thrall

appall belief dispel

the wildlife burn the breast

the onward tongue

the outward hand

deform the normal rainy

riot sunshine shelter wreck

of darkness derogate

delimit blank

explode deprive

assassinate and batten up

like bullets fatten up

the raving greed

reactivate a springtime

terrorizing

death by men by more

than you or I can

STOP

II

They sleep who know a regulated place

or pulse or tide or changing sky

according to some universal

stage direction obvious

like shorewashed shells

We share an afternoon of mourning

in between no next predictable

except for wild reversal hearse rehearsal

bleach the blacklong lunging

ritual of fright insanity and more

deplorable abortion

more and

more.

And the final poem in this memorial meditation comes from Audre Lorde.

A Woman Speaks

Moon marked and touched by sun

my magic is unwritten

but when the sea turns back

it will leave my shape behind.

I seek no favor

untouched by blood

unrelenting as the curse of love

permanent as my errors

or my pride

I do not mix

love with pity

nor hate with scorn

and if you would know me

look into the entrails of Uranus

where the restless oceans pound.

I do not dwell

within my birth nor my divinities

who am ageless and half-grown

and still seeking

my sisters

witches in Dahomey

wear me inside their coiled cloths

as our mother did

mourning.

I have been woman

for a long time

beware my smile

I am treacherous with old magic

and the noon’s new fury

with all your wide futures

promised

I am

woman

and not white.

This is just as much Coretta Scott King’s day as it is Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s. I include her in my meditation on Black life and Black death here in this post. May they both rest in power.

Until Next Time,

-D

"Freedom is never voluntarily given by the oppressor, it must be demanded by the oppressed."   -Martin Luther King Jr. (Retrieved online)

“Freedom is never voluntarily given by the oppressor, it must be demanded by the oppressed.”
-Martin Luther King Jr.
(Retrieved online)

About thepsych1

I am a natural progression. As I learn and grow, so does this blog as a reflection of myself. Poetry Art Videos Critique Let's collaborate. Bring your friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

