And So I Waited.

Plummet.

Everyday I sit and think to myself,

“I’ll wait ’til things die down,”

But every day things unremittingly accrue,

and I begin to drown

In my deep and tragic melancholy

within the ocean of Black Death,

On a raft built of my ancestry

and a compass of distress.

Everyday I realize that

each forward step is lateral,

Our White Supremacy and all its cohorts

use my body as collateral.

Everyday I continue to wait

in quiet consternation,

In passionate denial where

hope turns to desperation.

*     *     *

I find myself attempting to flee,

to ‘the Land of the Brave and the Home of the Free’

But what I end up doing is actually

perpetuating my own Death.

*     *     *

Where are the answers?

There aren’t many yet.

One thing is true

I am strong

so are you.

*     *     *

We live with the weight of our people

Beaten, raped, and seething on our backs.

The bones of our elders paving ahead

our incessantly tumultuous track.

We are lucky to have many base camps full

of love and of self-care.

If we get to pause from our fight,

it’s then when we prepare

To speak our truths to Power

by whatever means necessary.

Here we are-

-Interlocked.

Our loving rage as incendiary.

Written by Me on 6.14.15

Until Next Time,

-D

Poetry is life to me.

Poetry is life to me. Internet providing some Audre Inspiration. 

About thepsych1

I am a natural progression. As I learn and grow, so does this blog as a reflection of myself. Poetry Art Videos Critique Let's collaborate. Bring your friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

