New Year; More Violence.

I’m going to be honest, I had a couple of drinks for this one. I think at this point you know what I am referencing.

The Colour of Violence

Seriously, it might seem like this post is coming straight from the ’70s-’80s to you, but honestly, it wouldn’t if it didn’t have to. Most folks who attend to mainstream media have heard about the militant [armed] white folk over in Oregon occupying federal property. Okay, don’t come at me with:

  • Any kind of designation of violence
  • Constitutional Amendment Rhetoric
  • Disparate valuations of life
  • Violently ignorant racism
  • White noise

The way that I am coming at this is not necessarily specific to one instance, as I am more compelled to attempt to understand undergirding issues (those of you who know my writing style already know that). What is so compelling to me here is what I had been attending to recently concerning the violent deaths and silencing of Black & Brown bodies within our white supremacist capitalist society. I know lately, we have only seen instances of Black death and brown & black silencing. Now, we have one outlying example of pushback among white militant extremists. There has already been a lot of social commentary suggesting we non-whites would have been killed by now (with pertinent examples therein).

What I want to focus on is… What’s the diff? 

Why do we need this example from white extremists to gawk at? What is this really doing for our movement? Other than yet another example of violent white privilege, I think holding on to the ‘waiting period’ from when this militant takeover started to police involvement is only causing attention to be focused outside of where it continuously and consistently needs to be: On the perpetually violent silencing of non-white folks in our society.

Don’t get me wrong, I was shocked at the headlines, but we need to stay vigilant for our survival. We need to raise up the peaceful-yet-savvy challenges to white supremacy, and know that the government will do what they do with these white militants, cause they’ll figure it out. Don’t feed into the master’s tools. They are there to dissuade us. The specific situation of the white militants paired with all the recent pardoning of the extermination of Black lives should serve as another heaping serving of the state of our nation. These should raise the rage to another level, where we all should push back in whichever ways that we find necessary; whether it is on the micro or macro level. Movement can only stay alive through constant collective struggle.

There are MANY ways to stay connected, whether it is on the local level or national. Don’t let the internet dissolve your fire. Social media is a POWERFUL weapon in the fight. Search terms like:

#BlackLivesMatter

#SayHerName

#SayHisName

#BlackMindsMatter

To learn more about how to stay connected beyond the internet. I know the struggle is hard, comrades, but don’t be distracted from the knowledge of the undergirding systems of power that structures our society. It might cost you your life.

I’ll leave you with this:

I asked a question like this

Are we a lost generation of our people?

Add us to equations but they’ll never make us equal.

She who writes the movie owns the script and the sequel.

So why ain’t the stealing of my rights made illegal?

They keep us underground working hard for the greedy,

But when it’s time to pay they turn around and call us needy.

My crown too heavy like the Queen Nefertiti

Give me back my pyramid, I’m trying to free Kansas City.

*

Mixing masterminds like your name Bernie Grundman.

Well I’m gonna keep leading like a young Harriet Tubman.

You can take my wings but I’m still goin’ fly,

And even when you edit me the booty don’t lie

Yeah, keep singing and I’mma keep writing songs,

I’m tired of Marvin asking me, “What’s Going On?”

March to the streets ’cause I’m willing and I’m able,

Categorize me, I defy every label

And while you’re selling dope, we’re gonna keep selling hope

We rising up now, you gotta deal you gotta cope

Will you be electric sheep?

Electric ladies, will you sleep?

Or will you preach?

“Q.U.E.E.N. [featuring Erykah Badu]” by Janelle Monáe

& accompanying inspiring video.

Cheers to you, my comrades! We have just BEGUN to fight.

Until Next Time,

-D

 

 

 

About thepsych1

I am a natural progression. As I learn and grow, so does this blog as a reflection of myself. Poetry Art Videos Critique Let's collaborate. Bring your friends.
This entry was posted in Nocturnal Writings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

