An Homage to World Poetry Day

Cyclical

If consternation equaled productivity

Maybe I could stop being lost in all the monotony 

Of all of the things that time cannot change

Of all the people who smile in my face 

But behind my back, look to me with disdain.

* * *

What if the thought of you brought me back to life?

What if your words confirm that in the end I’ll be alright?

What if I just told you that I knew you knew me?

From the second I sat across from you, I knew you really saw me?

* * *

Poetry is a life force that bleeds out of my loins and mind

It gives power to my quiet moments of hesitation

And a voice to tear the ties that perpetually bind

My life, visibility, and relevance in this culture

It sheds hope on the chance to defeat the norms that pick at me like a vulture.

Written by Me on 3.21.16

Poetry has saved my life so many different times. Even in the middle of the end of the semester I had to make time to celebrate poetry with you today! Celebrate life, celebrate passion, celebrate words and the many ways they can be used!

Happy World Poetry Day

Until Next Time,

-D

Audre-Lorde-poetry

About thepsych1

I am a natural progression. As I learn and grow, so does this blog as a reflection of myself. Poetry Art Videos Critique Let's collaborate. Bring your friends.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

