A Little Chaos in >600 Words.

Prologue

I feel as though I’ve been dooped

as though everything I’ve struggled through

meant nothing but a way to coop

myself inside the worst part of me

to be suppressed and ne’er be free…

I am writing this because I need to connect. I need to take my mind away from academia and rhetoric. That, and there’s been SO much crap happening around me that I can no longer focus. However, for the sake of time and mental clarity I will focus on 3 things with an emphasis on 2 of them.

Body

Roses are red

violets blue,

lemme give you a big assed mug

to scoop from this fountain of truths…

  1. HB2 in NC.– So unless you avoid every way of getting current events, it has been a shit show in NC. This bigoted sweeping law covers ALL KINDS of approval to discriminate, but what’s worse is the disgusting ignorant subjugation of transgender people! It is soooooo backwards, I don’t even know where to start. So, of course there was great pushback in the form of meetings, protests, marches, boycotts, and such the like. I mean it is so powerful to see happen. In response, McCrory signed an executive order to ‘protect’ privacy and equality… which we all know is still bigoted, and also waaaaaay too little and too late. Also, how in the world would anyone be able to enforce public bathroom use in ways that aren’t extremely bigoted and transphobic? The worst thing is so many trans folks are being killed, raped, assaulted, and more without having such bigoted laws around, now this has just gotten people out of the woodwork to even further silence and subjugate. Please check this link out and share if you will! You can help fight against this mess! #WeAreThis
  2. Buzzfeed & Respectability– Recently, there was this video FULL of respectability politics called, “27 Questions Black People Have for Black People,” where I couldn’t even get through it a full time without pausing a few times to make sure it was real. I think that although Buzzfeed probably was trying to be snarky or something, they ended up messing ALL the way up. Just because you can pay a few Black folk to do a Buzzfeed video, doesn’t mean you should. I mean every question was based from racist and/or classist stereotypes that continue to be perpetuated in order to continue to silence and oppress Black communities. This video response from Evelyn From the Internets gave me life, I hope it gives you some too:
  3. Positive Note- I am almost done with my MA and I just have to mention how much Audre Lorde has saved me along this writing journey. I actually slept with one of her books in the bed for quite some time during this writing process (yes, my room is like a cave right now). I am so excited to note that I even used some of her poetry in my writing and it was so healing for me to do so. This MA journey has been good, bad, ugly, and now I just am so ready for it to be over!!

Epilogue

And so I exposed myself to you

and by engaging me, you did too.

Releasing in a way that doesn’t consume

is quite a blessing

effervescing.

Until Next Time,

-D

love

Just some truth I found online.

 

About thepsych1

I am a natural progression. As I learn and grow, so does this blog as a reflection of myself. Poetry Art Videos Critique Let's collaborate. Bring your friends.
This entry was posted in Nocturnal Writings, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

